Valentine’s Day Card, from Chad

Standard

I don’t know about you but I hate picking out V-Day cards.  It is hard to find one card that says it all so I end up settling for a card and adding a few words of my own.  This year I found myself reflecting a little more on the whole love thing and what I wanted to express to Amy…after all, this has been quite a year for all of us and no card can even begin to express my feelings and gratitude for her. 

So, I decided to write a blog post instead of spending a small fortune on a card…I am not sure if this follows the blog etiquette, but you can send your complaints to Amy since it is her blog! 

When I think about the past six months these words come to mind:  grace, patience, and courage.  As a family we have learned so much during the transition of Team Martin.  I am proud of the courage that all our children have displayed and God has given us just enough patience and grace when we needed it.  When I look back I often ask “how did we do it?”  God’s grace continues to be sufficient and we give Him all the glory for His faithfulness. (Psalm 115:1)

In addition to God’s grace a lot of credit goes to Amy for modeling and living out grace, patience, and courage for our family.  I am proud of her and while she would never admit it, she has been strong and brave.  I’ve read Proverbs 31 and there are a lot of things in there about a wife, but here are some of the reasons (not found in a card) that I love my wife and the mother of my children…

  • After returning from the Philippines during her first trip she didn’t pressure me to go back, but simply said, “I am just going to pray that God will lead us and He will get you there if that is His plan”
  • She worked tirelessly to complete all the adoption papers and process in record time because she said WE have to get our girl home…We have missed too much of her life already.
  • She also continues to work with our adoption agency to speak with families who are considering adoption and is the number 1 supporter of those children that need homes. 
  • She isn’t afraid to say that sometimes being a mother of four and navigating this transition is hard and some days just plain sucks
  • She always finds time to meet with ladies for coffee who just need to talk and is willing to listen even when she doesn’t have all the answers
  • She always adds that special touch that makes us feel special…I have always said she is the fine china in my paper plate life. 
  • She keeps me accountable and reminds me that life isn’t always neat and tidy
  • She’s my biggest cheerleader and believes in me…even when I fail.
  • She isn’t afraid to say, “don’t talk to me until after I’ve had my coffee” and “I hate mornings”
  • She reminds our children about the important things in life even when they don’t want to hear it
  • She’s never met a stranger and loves people and believes God is enough

I thought about closing with a verse from Proverbs 31, but instead I decided to quote a country song by Alabama…”She’s close enough to perfect for me”.   You see…life is hard and following Jesus isn’t always easy…it’s messy and complicated…the path is not always smooth.  Having a wife who gets this and is still willing to stay on the journey with us is enough for me. 

Happy Valentine’s Day.

One response »

Leave a Reply

