Not to us, Oh Lord, Not to Us

Standard

This is Psalm 115:1…Not to us, oh Lord, not to us but to your name be the glory because of your love and faithfulness. 

Chad is reading through the bible this year.  I am so proud of him for sticking with it.  I made it to Epiphany, January 6.  =)  This was part of his reading yesterday, and after he shared it with me I really began to think about what this means.  So many people have shared with us that they are amazed or proud or any number of adjectives meaning they are astounded and/or impressed that we would choose to adopt an older child. I always tell people that it is not us…it is God.  And I mean it.  I never could have planned, orchestrated, hoped, or dreamed this whole thing up.  This is completely God.

Then I come to today.  I am literally feeling jumpy, skittish, nervous, upset, frustrated, and overwhelmed that I have no timeline, no info, and apparently no chance of talking to the embassy because they do not answer calls or have full voicemail boxes.  UGH.  And then I think of this verse…because this verse means that I want all the glory to go to God because of HIS LOVE AND FAITHFULNESS.  If I am trusting in his love and faithfulness I should also be able to remember that NO GOVERNMENT is deciding when our daughter comes home.  Only God will.  No embassy, or ICAB, or children’s home, or social worker, or airline, or any other entity on this planet is either.  ONLY.  GOD.  WILL.  Because of his love and faithfulness.  They never fail.  They have never failed since the foundation of the universe and they will not fail today or tomorrow or any day into eternity.  I can trust him.  I must trust him.  He is doing this in his time.  I am thankful for it…even as I squirm.  Thank you for tuning into my self-pep talk.  =)

♥amy

3 responses »

  1. Amen sister! One of the best lessons that I continue to relearn is that the “waiting” time is a REAL time–not an illegitimate one before the anticipated thing occurs. As you have beautifully explained and demonstrated, often it is in the waiting that God glorifies himself. If things happened on our terms, we would probably just feel all self-congratulatory.

    Isaiah 40: 31 But those who wait on the LORD
    Shall renew their strength;
    They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
    They shall run and not be weary,
    They shall walk and not faint.

    In other words. Wait=Strength. No wait= No strength.

    Love you!
    K

  2. “The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit,” Amy. Praying that you hear something soon. God keeps teaching us that life is about Him and His glory and our privilege to do His will. But, ironically, giving ourselves obediently (and sometimes painfully) to His will results in more freedom, fulfillment, and joy then if we pursued our own glory directly. “For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” Matt 16:25. Looking to Christ’s example and in Christ through the power of the Spirit, we can live this way to the Father’s glory. But we know this is a lifelong lesson that will only be completed in heaven.

Leave a Reply

