A Precious Sight

Standard

We have been very busy working on the room, purchasing pillows, a set of sheets, a mattress pad.  Each item has brought her one step closer in my mind.

I saw the most precious thing, on Wednesday, that I wanted to share with you all.  It might not mean as much to you as it does to me, but I need it recorded here for my sake as much as anyone else’s.  Lizzie had asked me after Wednesday’s shopping if she could wash the new set of sheets we had bought.  I said sure, (even though I had planned on washing them closer to travel), because I knew she was eager to get everything ready.  Anyway, later on that afternoon Lizzie was sent to her room for saying something not so sweet to her brother and stomped up the stairs.  A little while later, I went up and saw her down the hall….in her room, making her sister’s bed.  The care she was taking with each fold and tuck and smoothing the sheets literally brought me to my knees.  I watched for a moment without her knowing and then walked into my bathroom and held onto the bathroom counter with more emotion flowing through me than I have felt in a while.  Why it affected me so profoundly I may never know.  I do know that the image of her making that bed is permanently seared into my brain.  I guess part of it is that as I watched her I was reminded that while I take on much of the emotional and practical tasks related to this adoption, we are all in this together.  We are all eager and we are all scared.  Each one of is playing out our excitement and fears in different ways.

Please pray for my children, all four of them, that they are processing all of this well and that we have prepared them as well as possible for the unknown things to come.  Pray for our fourth daughter that someone is loving on her, talking to her, and preparing her for all the unknowns to come.  Thank you for sticking with us!

♥amy

3 responses »

  1. I bet Lizzie is soooo excited for the girls to rule in the Martin household! I just realized how special this is going to be for her…A sister is so special. There is no other bond like it. I pray that they grow close soon!

    • I pray the same thing Kelli! I want this to be a wonderful experience for all of my children but for Lizzie and V to get to be “sisters” is indeed very special!

Leave a Reply

