The Battle Is Not Yours

Standard

Chad wrote this yesterday…it has taken me this long to have a minute to sit down and post it to the blog =)

 

Ok, I am back for a guest appearance on the blog.  On my early morning flight today I felt led
to share this with you…

While talking with a friend yesterday they asked me how old
“she” is…I said 15.  They reminded me
that next Father’s Day I would be a father to 3 teenagers.  It took a few minutes for the phrase to sink
in and then I began to feel a little weak in the knees.  I had two thoughts…#1, I am not old enough to
have teenagers and #2, I don’t have the parenting skills to do this.  Thinking about the resources needed to
support them and the patience it takes to parent teenagers I became a little
overwhelmed.

At that point I was reminded of a passage I read a few days
ago…2 Chronicles 20: 14-17…I have paraphrased below.

He said: “Listen, King
Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah
and Jerusalem!  This is what the Lord says to you: Do not be
afraid or discouraged…for the battle is not yours, but God’s…You will not have
to fight this battle.  Take up your
positions, stand firm and see the deliverance the Lord will give you…go out to
face them tomorrow, and the Lord will be with you.”

 After re-reading this verse I felt both encouraged and
challenged.  God is clearly saying this
battle is not yours to fight.  It is His
battle.  However, He is also clearly
saying this is a contact sport!  You must
take your position and stand firm.   While
I still don’t have all the answers I believe He has responded to my fear and
concerns…Go out face them and the Lord will be with you.

So whatever situation you might be facing I hope you find
the same encouragement from this passage.
We all like movies where a “hero” comes in to save the day…My kids enjoy
Aragon from “Lord of the Rings” and my wife still believes a vegetarian vampire
will always pull up in his silver Volvo to save the day.  For me, it’s Jimmy Chitwood in the movie
Hoosiers…in one of the final scenes of the movie Jimmy looks at the entire team
and says that he will take the last shot.

That is the God we serve…one who will storm the gate, take
on the enemy, or take the last shot.  So
as you navigate the waters of your daily lives I hope you will remember the
words from 2 Chronicles…the battle is not
yours
stand firm and see the
deliverance the Lord will give you. 

In Christ,Chad

Leave a Reply

