First Documents

Standard

As a mom, I have always been a little bit of a hoarder.  I have LOTS of documents from my kids through the years, starting with when I was expecting them.  I have u/s pictures, hospital forms, birth plans…not to mention their check up forms from every year of their lives.  Moving on to agendas, certificates, and diplomas from each year.  Finally on Friday, I got something for my newest child.  I got some documents…not the all important birth certificate and other things that need to go to immigration but the first forms that I will have forever, along with two photos we had not seen before.  I have her medical documents with her immunization records, which I will copy to start her file at the pediatrician’s office.  I got all of her psychological and academic testing…plus HER home study which tells her whole history and evaluations made by social workers.  All confidential, but all mean she is ours!!!

Her story is not a perfect one, but who of us has one of those?  How an orphan came to be an orphan is often more heartbreaking than we can bear to hear.  Especially when it is the story of how my child came to be an orphan.  Then I have to remember that we were all orphans, and were rescued by a gracious and loving God.  Looking at my life before I began walking with the Lord I see much sadness, desperation, and loneliness…my life as an orphan was sad as well.  And God knew that she was to be our daughter even as she was becoming an orphan.  As I ponder all of these things I keep going back in my mind to my study of Esther…the  “And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?”  Beth Moore has rarely said something that has impacted me more…I am paraphrasing when I say this, but she essentially said that the “who knows” is not about God, becaue He KNOWS, it is about us…and then she looked right at the screen and said so “YOU KNOW, YOU KNOW, YOU KNOW” that God has placed you here for such a time as this.  wow.  It literally took my breath away when she said it and I have tears streaming down my face as I type it right now.  HE KNEW, HE KNEW, HE KNEW.  All of this he knew before during and after our lives began to intertwine.  What a beautiful story HE is writing in my life, in my husband’s life, in my children’s lives…and hopefully in many others as a result of our story.  May we never forget that He is the author of this story!  May we continually point only to him when people congratulate or praise us!  May YOUR day be blessed and I pray you think about the story God is writing for YOU today!

♥amy

2 responses »

  1. Very touching, Amy. I hope that you will print out all your blogs and save them for your “newest child.” You are a gifted writer and these words from your heart will be a priceless gift to her one day.

    Thank you for sharing the “who knows” – God knows thoughts from Beth Moore. I needed to be reminded of this truth.

Leave a Reply

