H.O.P.E.

Standard

So the poor have hope, and injustice shuts its mouth.  Job 5:16
Oh, that I might have my request, that God would grant what I hope for, Job 6:8
“What strength do I have, that I should still hope? What prospects, that I should be patient? Job 6:11
Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD Psalm 31:24
But the eyes of the LORD are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love,
Psalm 33:18
But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more Psalm 71:14
I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope.  Psalm 130:5
For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has?  Romans 8:24
Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.  Hebrews 11:1
Settle in with a cup of coffee, this is going to be a long one.  I have had one of the greatest blessings to my heart this morning that I have had during this entire process…the blessing of my future daughter, so far away, having a conversation about HOPE.  What are her hopes?  What does she want?  My friend, Kim, who is the school director asked her about writing on her arm.  She had written HOPE on her arm in the same way that it is now written on mine.  When Kim asked her about it she acted shy and wouldn’t tell at first.  She looked away, seemingly sad.  Kim asked again what her hopes were…school?  a job?  a family?  Yes, our girl says, a family.  Kim asked more about her family like how many children she wanted.  Our girl looked surprised and said no, not have a family.  Have a mom.  Have. a. mom.  Let that sink in.  Now some of you might be panicking for her because she is getting a dad too, but she has never had one of those and sees women as caretakers of children.  It is culturally different so she is probably not opposed to a dad, just can’t imagine it.  But she has hope written on her arm, because she hopes for a family.  She wrote that on the same day that we finished our home study…she wrote it mere hours later.  She hopes for what God is already planning for her.  I pray that some of why she is writing it now is that God is putting that desire in her heart even more right now…so that no one but HIM gets the credit for answered prayers.  I pray she always sees him as the giver of her hope.  The provider of her joy and the lifter of her head.  The God of impossibilities. 
 
I looked up hope at a bible reference web site…there are 159 times that hope is mentioned in the NIV version of the bible.  God must care about our hope.  I wrote only a few that touched my heart today as I thought of this girl with hope written on her arm.  How stunned and surprised she will be when she finds out that God has heard her requests…her hopes.  He will provide this girl, who was considered unadoptable (and sadly she knows it) and will answer her hopes clearly in an obvious way that she is NOT expecting.  I can not wait.  I simply can not wait to be the tool that God uses to change this girl’s whole view of him.  He must have big plans for her, for all of us.  One thing God never does is pull something big off without a purpose.  A Divine Purpose.  Oh that we should all be witness to it! 
I have a request for these hope verses.  Pick one.  Write it down.  Pray it for yourself about your own hopes and then pray it for our child. 
This is the one I am writing down:
And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.  Romans 5:5
 
Much love from Amy—-(who is still doing the happy dance because all of her paperwork is done!)
 
 
 ***If you choose a verse could you let me know in the comments section?  How cool would it be to be able to show her in the future which of you were praying “hope” verses over her before she even arrived???
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

