Rest

Standard

Rest…so often such an elusive word in our society.  Actually, it is almost looked down upon as laziness.  But God speaks a lot about rest.  One resource said over 500 times “rest” is mentioned in the bible.  It is important to rest, for our spiritual, emotional, and physical well being.  I told Chad last night that I was sleeping in this morning….7:02.  Wow, Amy, how did you manage to sleep that long?  I am hoping for a spiritual and emotional rest this weekend as well.  We have been flying on an emotional and spiritual high for the last few weeks…it is exhilirating while at the same time exhausting.

 The men from my church who have been with my girl in the Philippines for the last week are coming home tonight.  We will be at the airport to meet them.  I have much joy when I think that the next time my children go to the airport to meet someone coming home it will be to welcome their new sister.  Wow.  

This verse is written on my chalkboard in my kitchen:  I am still confident of this, I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.  Psalm  27:13-14

In this season of waiting, there is much busyness, but also much need for rest.  I want to hurry the whole process…but God has work to do in the process.  And I feel like he is calling me to some REST this weekend so that I am ready for all the next week holds. 

♥amy

Leave a Reply

