The Glow

Standard

More than once while I was in the Philippines Julie and I would be separated for long periods of time. She was often with the orphanage while I was with Kim, the school director, or the men. The kids were around us all day because the older children have a more independent living space in the basement of the guest house. It is great for them! One day in particular, I remember Julie coming in and saying to me that I was absolutely “glowing”. As I look back now, I feel like I glowed the whole time. Some of the hardest things I have ever experienced were there. Some of the worst smells, most oppressive heat, and by far the most unbelievable poverty and living conditions.

And yet I glowed. I am certain that the glow she saw, was the glow of God growing me into a mother again. I am sure it was that first love of your child that almost knocks you down. See, I felt that. I told Chad how much love I had for this child and how unbelievably helpless I felt leaving!

On my last night, we spent some time together and then we went out to the porch and hung out by ourselves. I thought I would cry when _____ asked if I was coming back. I said that I prayed the Lord would make it possible.  Once again, today I am reminded that the Lord of possibilities already knew that when I returned it would be to truly become a mother again.

♥amy

2 responses »

  1. Hey, Amy. This reminds me of Moses coming down from meeting with God, when he had to veil his face because it glowed. In 1 Corinthians 3, Paul talks about the fact that, through Christ, we can experience God’s glory and transformation in our lives, just like you’re describing: “16 But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. 17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18 And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.”

Leave a Reply

