The Bridge Photo

Standard

I have to explain this bridge photo…I chose it because this is what I feel God did for us.  I feel like I was standing on the other side of the ocean from this child and thought I had figured out how to handle my feelings of love God had given me.  I felt like I sat down with my family to just hang out and looked up and God had started building the most beautiful bridge…like magic, right out of the fog.  The thing that makes God’s bridge beautiful is not that it is made with the most perfect stones or the most even path with no challenges traveling over it….it is that HE built it.  It is the way he is building our story of adoption.  Brick by brick, paver by paver…and we can only go as far as he has finished today.  We can’t just run across it.  It is a bridge under construction…piece by piece, step by step.  At the end I pray we will all see a completed bridge, beautiful…with a family of 6 walking back across it.  Oh how I pray.  This is the dream that literally consumes me.  I dream of walking into the guest house every.single.night. 

This is one of my favorite verses about worry, I was a professional worrier for many years.   As my trust and faith and knowledge of who God is has grown, my ability to push worry away has grown as well.  But sometimes I fall back into old patterns, so I fill my mind with God’s word on those very topics so he can give me the strength to overcome them once again.

Matthew 6:34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of it’s own.  (NIV)

I love it even more in The Message translation. Matt 6:34  Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.  God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.  (emphasis mine)

As he builds the bridge he will get us over the rough patches.  We are trusting in HIM.  I know some of you are worried about this decision we have made.  Please pray, not that we would change our minds, but that God will continue to carry us WHEN times are more difficult.  The Message says God will help us deal with hard things WHEN they come, it is a guarantee that hard times will come.  And I dare say, not just with adopted children, but biological as well.  So, if you are worrying, I pray God will show you ways to overcome your worry.  I pray He will show you in tangible ways that this is His plan for our family.  I pray you will see the glory of the Lord in new ways. 

♥amy

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

