The News and The Beginning

Standard

Hello friends and family!  I am so excited that you are here.  For many of you, this will be the first you hear of our news.  For others, you have been walking this road with us for a little bit now, and are ready to see it set in motion!  To keep the suspense at a minimum….drum roll………WE ARE ADOPTING.  Ok, pick your chins up.  I already know, (and probably have already heard) what you may be thinking.

1. You people are CRAZY…you have 3 kids already!

2.  Adoption is SO expensive…how will you ever afford it?

3.  Hey, you never know what you are going to get.

4.  What will this do to your children?

To be honest, we have thought about all of these things ourselves.  We have considered every reason why we should not do this.  In fact, I could probably write you a list right now of a hundred reasons we SHOULD NOT do this.  And yet here we sit.  Not because we are fully assured that we are the most capable parents, not because we can just reach into our bank account and pull out all the money necessary for an international adoption, and NOT because we have any guarantee of how this will “turn out”, for us or our children. 

The simple fact is … we believe this is what God has planned for us and expects us to do.

WAIT!  Before I lose every reader I ever had before I start, let me go back…back to the beginning.  Back to March 2010 when I had a fateful Wednesday phone conference with my pastor and “boss” for my women’s ministry position.  He said…in a Greg voice, “Hey!  One more question…we are looking for a teacher to go on our Philippines trip with us to evaluate the school.  Do you know anyone?”  Little did I know that question had just changed the Martin Family destiny.  My immediate response was, “I want to go!”  And after about 3 days of really thinking about it and talking to Chad, I fully committed to go on the trip with a team of 4 others from my church to Manila, Philippines to work with a ministry that had both a school and an orphanage on site.  I know God was beaming as I took the first step towards a whole different experience with His Kingdom.  He already had so much up his sleeve…   ♥amy

A Side Note:  Because of the laws regarding our particular situation please do not post about our adoption on Facebook.  It is in regard to the privacy of the child we are adopting.  It is for safety reasons…we will tell you when the whole thing is wide open.  Please leave any comments on this blog or through fb email, not wall posts.

4 responses »

  1. Amy,

    As I sit here and read your blog, I am sad, sad at myself, for not also taking the steps to adopt, something I have wanted to do for so long. Thank you, thank you for listening to God’s plan. Thank you for opening your heart, your home, your life to give to another human being. Thank you for sharing your journey. I am honored to be able to call you a long time friend, honored to say that my friend makes me very proud. Please venture out and find the song entitled “From God’s arms, to my arms, to yours”, it will melt your heart! I pray for you, Chad and your children and ask that he open all doors and make this adoption process as easy for everyone. So few people are like you, we know in our hearts what we should do, but yet we never do what our hearts are saying. You are a woman of such grace!

Leave a Reply

